147597
Image 0 - Scenic Trail
Image 1 - Scenic Trail
Image 2 - Scenic Trail
Image 3 - Scenic Trail
Image 4 - Scenic Trail
Image 5 - Scenic Trail
Image 6 - Scenic Trail
Image 7 - Scenic Trail
Image 8 - Scenic Trail
Image 9 - Scenic Trail
Image 10 - Scenic Trail

Scenic Trail

...a stunning, panoramic excursion (run) along ridges in the Lugano area through awe-inspiring landscapes offering unique panorama!

Itinerary for trail runners

It starts at Tesserete, a picturesque village near Lugano. It follows age-old paths leading to mountain settlements where people used to depend on raising animals, especially cows and goats. A Capuchin monastery dating back to 1535, farms, mountain huts and tiny mountain hamlets complete this idyllic image.

What is special about this panoramic route is that it faithfully follows the grassy ridiges marking the natural amphitheatre skirting the area. During the race, runners can always see the section they have already covered as well as the section which remains to be run. There is a spectacular difference between the landscape looking north towards Locarno and Bellinzona which is dominated by sharp, lofty peaks and the landscape in the other direction towards Lugano and Como Lakes and the rolling wooded hillsides.

In fact, thanks to these breathtaking vistas, the Scenic Trail has been judged by many expert runners as the most beautiful race in the circuit.

The official race is held once a year, further information on the site: www.scenictrail.ch

Copyright photo: Davide Adamoli e Milo Zanecchia

Tips

  • Trail running shoes
  • Waterproof clothing, light and warm
  • Gloves, sun cap, change of clothes
  • Torch, sunglasses, sun cream, water-bottle
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food and Drink

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

The route follows a logical line linking a number of ridges. It starts from Tesserete and goes  all the way to Monte Brè, above Lugano. An excursion which can be spread out over several days, staying overnight along the route at the places listed below, in order of arrival: 

  • Agriturismo Alpe Zalto
  • Agriturismo Alpe Rompiago
  • Capanna Monte Bar,
  • Capanna San Lucio/Rifugio San Lucio
  • Capanna Pairolo
  • Alpe Bolla

The entire route is marked by fixed signage with yellow signs showing the event logo against a greenback background. In any case, for safety's sake we recommend taking the route map with you. www.ti-sentieri.ch

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

147597
Image 0 - Scenic Trail
Image 1 - Scenic Trail
Image 2 - Scenic Trail
Image 3 - Scenic Trail
Image 4 - Scenic Trail
Image 5 - Scenic Trail
Image 6 - Scenic Trail
Image 7 - Scenic Trail
Image 8 - Scenic Trail
Image 9 - Scenic Trail
Image 10 - Scenic Trail

Scenic Trail

… excursion (course) spectaculaire et panoramique sur les crêtes de la région de Lugano entre paysages à couper le souffle et vues extraordinaires !

Itinéraire pour trail runners

Celui-ci part de Tesserete, village pittoresque des environs de Lugano, et suit d’anciens sentiers qui mènent aux alpages où les gens vivaient de l’élevage des vaches et des chèvres. Un monastère capucin datant de 1535, des fermes, des cabanes d’alpage et des petits villages de montagne, complètent cette image idyllique.

Ce parcours panoramique est particulier car il suit principalement les crêtes herbeuses de l’amphithéâtre naturel qui entoure la région. Pendant la course, on peut toujours voir le trajet déjà parcouru et celui qui reste à parcourir. Le contraste, entre la vue vers le nord en direction de Locarno e Bellinzona où dominent les hautes montagnes très pointues et la vue vers le sud caractérisée par les lacs Ceresio et Lario et les douces collines boisées, est saisissant.

Le Scenic Trail en raison de ses magnifiques panoramas  a été reconnu par de nombreux coureurs experts en la matière comme la plus belle course du circuit.

La course officielle se déroule une fois par an. De plus amples informations et les itinéraires alternatives sont disponibles sur le site www.scenictrail.ch

Copyright foto: Davide Adamoli e Milo Zanecchia

Suggestions

  • Chaussures de course
  • Vêtements imperméables, légers et chauds
  • Gants, casquette, linges de rechange
  • Lampe de poche, lunettes de soleil, crème solaire, gourde
  • Carte de randonnée
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture et boissons

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider : https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Le parcours suit un itinéraire logique et relie les crêtes de Tesserete jusqu’au Monte Brè au-dessus de Lugano. Cette excursion peut se faire sur un ou plusieurs jours en séjournant dans les structures d’accueil qui se trouvent dans cet ordre le long du parcours et dont voici la liste:

  • Agritourisme Alpe Zalto
  • Agritourisme Alpe Rompiago
  • Cabane Monte Bar
  • Cabane San Lucio/Refuge San Lucio
  • Cabane Pairolo
  • Alpe Bolla

Tout le parcours est balisé avec une signalétique fixe, ce sont des pancartes jaunes sur lesquelles figure le logo de la manifestation sur une base verte. Il est de toute façon recommandé de se munir de la carte indiquant le parcours.

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !