141597
Image 0 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 1 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 2 - San Gottardo Tour

San Gottardo Tour

Description

Take the train through the tunnel to Ticino across the Tremola and the Gotthard Pass back to German-speaking Switzerland. E-bikes make it possible to cross the historic Alpine pass like you've never done before - an experience you won't forget so quickly.

From Airolo the cycle route takes you through the Val Tremola (Valley of the Trembles), where the cobbled road with 37 hairpin bends overcomes a 900-metre difference in altitude. It was originally built in 1830 as a commercial route for horse-drawn wagons. At that time the Tremola was a technical masterpiece and still nestles attractively into the sparse, alpine landscape. The National Gotthard Museum on the pass provides visitors with information on mankind's arduous struggle against Nature.

It shows how the pass roads were constructed and are maintained and has exhibits showing historical forms of transport. It is also worth visiting the Cappella di San Gottardo chapel, built between 1160 and 1176. Take advantage of your break to eat in the restaurant before making the descent down into the Urserental valley, one of Switzerland's most impressive high valleys. The final section of the tour takes you along the Reuss river from Hospental to Andermatt, where work is currently being undertaken to build the Andermatt Swiss Alps resort.

Tips

For cycling, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Nord-Süd-Route
no. 3


This itinerary is open to traffic, please respect the road safety rules.

Guided excursions: for further information contact Damaceleste.com di Valentina Tanzi, guide with certificate "Swiss Cycling Road Guide"

Alternative routes

-

Close to this route

HikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

141597
Image 0 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 1 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 2 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 3 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 4 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 5 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 6 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 7 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 8 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 9 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 10 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 11 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 12 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 13 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 14 - San Gottardo Tour
Image 15 - San Gottardo Tour

San Gottardo Tour

Traversez en train le tunnel du Tessin, via Tremola et le col du Gothard, puis retournez en Suisse alémanique. Grâce à l'E-Bike, vous pourrez passer ce col alpin historique. Un événement que vous ne serez pas prêt d'oublier !

D'Airolo, la Véloroute traverse le Val Tremola (vallée tremblante), où la route pavée de pierres triomphe de 37 virages en épingle à cheveux de 900 mètres de dénivelé environ. À l'origine, cette route fut construite en 1830 à des fins commerciales pour permettre la circulation des voitures hippomobiles. Magnifiquement ancrée dans l'aride paysage alpin, la Tremola était à l'époque un chef-d'oeuvre technique. Le musée national situé au col du Gothard retrace le pénible combat de l'homme avec la nature.
Découvrez la construction et l'entretien des chemins du col ainsi que les formes de transport historiques. Nous vous conseillons également de visiter la Cappella di San Gottardo construite entre 1160 et 1176. Profitez de votre halte pour déjeuner au restaurant avant de descendre dans la vallée d'Urseren, l'une des hautes vallées les plus imposantes de Suisse. La dernière partie du parcours vous conduira le long de la Reuss de Hospental à Andermatt.

Copyright foto: Redesign

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le vélo :
Nord-Süd-Route
n° 3


L’itinéraire se déroule sur des routes ouvertes au trafic motorisé, respecte les règles de la circulation: www.prudenza-precedenza.ch

Variantes

-

Près de l'itinéraire

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !