141591

Percorso Vallemaggia: Bellinzona - Locarno

Through Piano di Magadino, the Ticino's vegetable garden, then amidst European camping guests on the lovely lakeside promenade to Locarno, a happy mix of the German holiday dream, Ticino business people and Swiss German Italianità.


Percorso Vallemaggia - Discover the full itinerary

Through fertile, richly-yielding Piano di Magadino, lively Locarno on Lago Maggiore and the gardens of Pedemonte, to the romantic Valle Maggia. The powerful river has split, dug out and polished the light-grey gneiss.

Bellinzona's many towers left behind, crossing the flat vegetable garden of the Ticino - Piano di Magadino. Remnants of the water-meadow landscape with many species of amphibians and birds in the Bolle di Magadino nature reserve, countless camping guests lark about in camp sites along the shores of Lago Maggiore in the Tenero holiday region.

Along the busy promenades on the shore to lively Locarno, a little further on serene & sophisticated Ascona. After the lush gardens of Pedemonte, the Ticino's most powerful river shows off its might: at Ponte Brolla it has eaten into the light-grey gneiss, split, dug out and polished the rocks.

Life was hard in romantic Valle Maggia, the church provided solace. On a fresco in the Santa Maria delle Grazie church in the village of Maggia, Saint Lugozonus serves a large cheese to the poor. The di Valmaggia Museum in the historic Palazzo Franzoni in Cevio describes the life and survival of the valley inhabitants.

DepartureBellinzona
ArrivalLocarno
Itinerary features
Typology
Linear
Duration
1H 15
Difficulty
Easy
 
Length
21.92 KM
Unsurfaced
1 KM
Wednesday 21 February
MAX 9° / MIN -3°
rainfall 0%
wind light
Weather forecast for the next days

Thu
7° -3°

Fri
6° -2°

Sat
8° -2°

Sun
7° -2°

Mon
4° -3°
Tips

For cycling, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Percorso Valle Maggia
no. 31

Tourism Organization Addresses

Ascona-Locarno Turismo
Infodesk Locarno

Piazza Stazione / Stazione FFS
CH-6600 Locarno
T +41 848 091 091
F +41 91 759 76 59
[email protected]
www.ascona-locarno.com

Download the hikeTicino App

This allows you to:

  • - Explore the itineraries around you
  • - Discover the itineraries on foot, to suit all tastes

You don’t know Ticino? The App will help you discover the itineraries closest to you. You may already be on a route!

You can download the hikeTicino App here as well, if you have an App that reads QR codes.

You can’t download the App? Perhaps your smartphone is not up to date. Try updating it with your computer, or otherwise contact the customer service for help.

141591
Image 0 - Percorso Vallemaggia: Bellinzona - Locarno
Image 1 - Percorso Vallemaggia: Bellinzona - Locarno
Image 2 - Percorso Vallemaggia: Bellinzona - Locarno

Percorso Vallemaggia: Bellinzona - Locarno

Par le potager tessinois du Piano di Magadino puis sur la promenade du lac avec les campeurs européens vers Locarno, où le rêve des vacanciers allemands, les hommes d'affaires tessinois et l'Italianità germano-suisse tourbillonnent pacifiquement ensemble.

Percorso Vallemaggia - Découvrer l'itinéraire complet

À travers la fertile plaine de Magadino, la ville active de Locarno, au bord du Lago Maggiore, et les jardins du Pedemonte, on atteint le romantique Val Maggia. Le puissant fleuve a dévoré le gneiss gris clair, l'a creusé et poli.

Quitter Bellinzona et ses tours, traverser le potager riche en tourbe du Ticino - la plaine de Magadino. On trouve des restes de marécages et leur diversité d'amphibiens et d'oiseaux dans la réserve naturelle de Bolle di Magadino, tandis que d'innombrables campeurs s'ébattent sur les emplacements de tente de la rive du Lago Maggiore, dans le paysage ouvert près de Tenero.

La promenade fréquentée de la rive mène à la ville active de Locarno, non loin de là, Ascona, calme et mondaine. Après les exubérants jardins du Pedemonte, le puissant fleuve du Ticino, la Maggia, montre sa force: à Ponte Brolla, elle a dévoré le gneiss gris clair, crevassé la roche, creusé et poli.

La vie était dure dans le romantique Val Maggia, l'église apportait du réconfort. Sur une fresque de l'église Sta. Maria delle Grazie, dans le village de Maggia, Saint-Lugozonus sert un gros fromage aux pauvres. Le Museo di Valmaggia, dans l'historique Palazzo Franzoni de Cevio, décrit la vie et la survie des habitants de la vallée.

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le vélo :
Percorso Valle Maggia
n° 31

Variantes

-

Près de l'itinéraire

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !