142349

Isone Bike

The discovery of the mountains that surround the Val d'Isone, an area not particularly known but one that deserves to be visited. The excursion enhances the most fascinating places of the area accessible by Mountain Bike. From wooded slopes to pastures, from panoramic viewpoints to a peat bog.

 

By Rivera to Camignolo, passing the centre of Bironico, the route crosses an inhabited area in which the road surface is almost completely paved and the path is composed of a gentle slope followed by an equally easy descent.

 

The excursion up to Muricce, above Isone, completely takes place on easy roads. Beyond the centre of Bironico begins the climb that follows the main road toward Val d'Isone. Before Medeglia you turn left and there you enter first onto a secondary road and then onto a minor road of the paved route that passes partially through woodlands. The latter road leads up to the mountains of Medeglia, a flat area and a number of stone cottages which invite to a stop. The route continues uphill and, at the junction with Cima di Medeglia, one proceeds on a flat unpaved road up to the top of Cima di Fuori, from where the descent to Isone begins, on a paved road.

 

Here you may be encouraged by the prospect of lengthening the excursion, and one well-noted for hiking, following a charming panoramic unpaved road which culminates at Cima di Medeglia. This stretch of 1.7 km with a height difference of 180 metres is amply rewarded by a 360° panorama!

 

Thereafter from Isone climb up to Muricce where, in the middle of the route along the road, is an inviting and hospitable grottino, a traditional rustic eatery.

 

From Muricce, continue along a single trail immersed in vegetation to reach the Agriturismo Alpe Zalto that offers original refreshment and accommodation.

 

Shortly, you arrive at Gola di Lago, a charming peat bog located in an idyllic spot. At Alpe Santa Maria are various species of farm animals and, if it is open, you can also stop to eat. From here you get to Busio via an unpaved road which then leads out onto single trail through the woods that lead up to Camignolo from where you can easily return to Rivera.

DepartureRivera
ArrivalRivera
Itinerary features
Typology
Circular
Duration
4H 20
Difficulty
Average
 
Length
26.68 KM
Unsurfaced
8 KM
Single Trail
4 KM
Wednesday 21 February
MAX 9° / MIN 1°
rainfall 0%
wind light
Weather forecast for the next days

Thu
7° 1°

Fri
6° 2°

Sat
8° 2°

Sun
7° 2°

Mon
4° 1°
Tips

For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Isone Bike
no. 361

Tourism Organization Addresses

Ente Turistico del Luganese
Piazzale della Stazione

CH-6900 Lugano
T +41 58 866 66 00 
F +41 58 866 66 09
[email protected]
www.luganoturismo.ch

Download the hikeTicino App

This allows you to:

  • - Explore the itineraries around you
  • - Discover the itineraries on foot, to suit all tastes

You don’t know Ticino? The App will help you discover the itineraries closest to you. You may already be on a route!

You can download the hikeTicino App here as well, if you have an App that reads QR codes.

You can’t download the App? Perhaps your smartphone is not up to date. Try updating it with your computer, or otherwise contact the customer service for help.

142349
Image 0 - Isone Bike
Image 1 - Isone Bike
Image 2 - Isone Bike
Image 3 - Isone Bike
Image 4 - Isone Bike
Image 5 - Isone Bike
Image 6 - Isone Bike
Image 7 - Isone Bike

Isone Bike

A la découverte des montagnes qui entourent le Val d'Isone, une zone qui n'est pas forcément très connue mais qui mérite d'être visitée. L'itinéraire permet de découvrir les lieux les plus attrayants que l'on peut atteindre en VTT. C'est une alternance de bois, pâturages, lieux panoramiques et tourbière.

 

De Rivera à Camignolo, en passant par le village de Bironico, on traverse une zone d'habitations où les routes sont presque toutes asphaltées. Le parcours est composé d'une légère montée suivie d'une légère descente.

 

La randonnée jusqu'à Muricce, au-dessus de Isone, se déroule sur des routes faciles. Une fois le village de Bironico dépassé, commence la montée vers le Val d'Isone qui s'effectue sur la route principale. Avant Medeglia on tourne à gauche et on emprunte une route de seconde classe, puis de troisième classe, et des tronçons asphaltés qui traversent partiellement les bois. Cette dernière route conduit jusqu'au Monts de Medeglia, une zone de plaine avec de nombreux rustici qui invitent à faire une halte. On continue de monter. A la bifurcation avec la cime de Medeglia, on poursuit sur une route terrassée plane jusqu'à la cime de Fuori, et de là commence la descente qui, sur route asphaltée, mène à Isone.

 

Si on désire prolonger la randonnée, on peut emprunter la superbe route terrassée panoramique (signalée comme randonnée pédestre) qui conduit à la Cime de Medeglia. Cela représente un trajet de 1,7 km sur 180 mètres de dénivelé et des efforts largement récompensés par le panorama à 360° !

 

De Isone on remonte jusqu'à Mürecc/Muricce ; à mi-trajet, le long de la route, se trouve un petit grotto très accueillant ouvert pendant la saison.

 

A partir de Muricce, on poursuit la randonnée sur un sentier monotrace au cœur de la nature et on atteint l'agritourisme Alpe Zalto qui offre gîte et couvert de façon originale.

 

Peu après, on arrive à Gola di Lago, une superbe tourbière située dans une zone idyllique. A l'Alpe Santa Maria on peut voir diverses espèces animales de la ferme et si c'est ouvert, on peut s'y restaurer. De là, on arrive à Busio en empruntant une route terrassée qui débouche sur un sentier monotrace. Ce sentier conduit, à travers bois, jusqu'à Camignolo d'où il est très facile de rentrer à Rivera.

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le VTT :
Isone Bike
n° 361

Variantes

-

Près de l'itinéraire

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !