142246
Image 0 - Gottardo Bike
Image 1 - Gottardo Bike
Image 2 - Gottardo Bike
Image 3 - Gottardo Bike
Image 4 - Gottardo Bike
Image 5 - Gottardo Bike

Gottardo Bike

Description

An impressive conquest of the main chain of the Alps from Andermatt to Biasca in the Ticino. The Gottardo-Bike route holds the world-famous Gotthardpass, the lonely Piora high plain and the sunny Val Blenio.

The Gottardo-Bike route combines impressive, high-Alpine landscapes with a detailed lesson in Swiss history. The Gotthardpass has for centuries been one of the most important north-south links and also achieved military significance in World War II. The area is laced with subterranean bunkers, planned to offer refuge in an emergency. Extensive stretches of the route were originally military access roads.

The contrast to the Piora plain further south could not be greater. Here the focus is on nature. The peaceful plain with its two mountain lakes nestles in a rugged high-Alpine landscape. The Lago di Cadagno is actually world-famous among scientists, because there is no seasonal mixing of surface water, unique in Europe.

The descent into Val Blenio mainly follows the old route of the Lukmanier road. In medieval times the Passo del Lucomagno was the most important north-south link until the development of the Gotthard region. Largely unknown, it is one of the most scenic Alpine passes in Switzerland. The route to Olivone leads through open larch groves, over lush green plains, through dense pine forests and counts as one of the most beautiful tours in north Ticino.

Tips

For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Gottardo Bike
no. 65

Alternative routes

-

HikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

142246
Image 0 - Gottardo Bike
Image 1 - Gottardo Bike
Image 2 - Gottardo Bike
Image 3 - Gottardo Bike
Image 4 - Gottardo Bike
Image 5 - Gottardo Bike

Gottardo Bike

Un passage impressionnant de la crête principale des Alpes, d’Andermatt à Biasca, au Tessin. La «Gottardo-Bike-Route» relie le col mondialement célèbre du Passo del S. Gottardo, le haut plateau isolé de Piora et le ensoleillé Val Blenio.

La «Gottardo-Bike-Route» combine d’impressionnants paysages de haute montagne à une leçon d’histoire détaillée sur la Suisse. Depuis des siècles, le col Passo del S. Gottardo est l’une des plus importantes liaisons nord-sud et il acquit de plus une importance militaire durant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Le sous-sol est truffé d’installations militaires servant de lieux de refuge en cas d’urgence – et de longs tronçons de la route étaient à l’origine des voies d’accès militaires.

Le contraste avec le plateau de Piora, plus au sud, ne peut être plus marqué. Ici, la nature occupe la place centrale. Ce haut plateau charmant, avec ses deux lacs de montagne, est blotti dans un paysage de haute montagne abrupt. Le Lago di Cadagno est même mondialement célèbre parmi les scientifiques, car ses eaux de surface ne présentent aucun mélange saisonnier, un cas unique en Europe.

Une longue partie de la descente dans le Val Blenio suit l’ancienne route du col. Au Moyen-Âge, le col Passo del Lucomagno était considéré comme la plus importante liaison nord-sud, jusqu’à l’ouverture de la région du S. Gottardo. Très peu connu, il est l’un des cols suisses offrant le plus beau paysage. La route vers Olivone, considérée comme l’un des plus beaux itinéraires du Tessin du Nord, traverse des bois de mélèzes ouverts, des plateaux verdoyants et de denses forêts de sapins.

Copyright foto: Redesign

Suggestions

Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le VTT :
Gottardo Bike
n° 65

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !