148469
Image 0 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 1 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 2 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 3 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 4 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 5 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

The itinerary starts in the heart of Castel San Pietro, easily reachable also by Postbus (stop Castel S. Pietro Posta).

From here you hike along the "Via Obino", the initial stretch of the cantonal road to Monte, which leads to the hamlet of the same name, the oldest hamlet in the Municipality of Castel San Pietro mentioned in written documents. Crossing the historical centre, with a small diversion, you can hike up to the promontory on which, in an isolated and panoramic position, there is the beautiful church of S. Antonio. 

Following the official hiking signs you continue in the direction of Monte. You will happen to cross the cantonal road at several points, so pay attention before crossing!

After about 1 hour's walk you will reach the centre of Campora, a historic village in the Muggio Valley. The comfortable and wide path enters the forest and from here you climb slightly in the direction of Monte.
The picturesque village of Monte, situated on a sunny promontory, offers various possibilities for refreshment before returning to the mountain path that leads to Alpe Caviano, overcoming a difference in altitude of about 300 meters. 

Alpe Caviano at an altitude of 967 metres is located on the southern slope of the Monte Generoso massif. After the hospice of the Gran San Bernardo Pass, it is the southernmost alpine refuge in Switzerland. From here the view ranges from the Lower Mendrisiotto to the metropolis of Milan, the Duomo and the tall buildings in the centre are clearly visible, passing through the Po Valley, Monviso on the border with France and the entire Monte Rosa group. 

At the refuge there is drinking water from the municipal network, instant hot water via automatic gas kettle, electricity 220V/380V. No telephone connection, 3G reception (low) a few metres towards the road, free Wi-Fi. Small pantry for drinks and long-life consumer goods, external service to avoid guests passing through to the first floor. Please note: the hut is only open on reservation!

To descend towards Castel San Pietro, take a characteristic mule track with cobblestone bottom that descends gently and in about 1 hour's walk takes us back to our starting point.

Tips

  • Hiking boots
  • Sun cap
  • Water-bottle
  • Sunglasses
  • Sun cream
  • Hiking map
  • Camera
  • Food

Montagnepulite: This project was born to promote an effective management and sustainable use of mountain huts in Ticino, and in particular the litter management. The responsible management of litter in the mountains is a matter of common sense. We can all contribute: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/en/golden-rules

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148469
Image 0 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 1 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 2 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 3 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 4 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro
Image 5 - Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

Castel San Pietro - Campora - Monte - Alpe di Caviano - Castel San Pietro

L'itinéraire débute au cœur du village de Castel San Pietro, facilement accessible également en car postal (arrêt Castel S. Pietro Posta).

De là, on monte le long de la "Via Obino", premier tronçon de la route cantonale de Monte, qui mène au village du même nom. Obino est le plus ancien village de la commune de Castel San Pietro mentionné dans des documents écrits. En traversant le centre historique, avec un petit détour, on peut monter jusqu'au promontoire sur lequel, dans une position isolée et panoramique, se trouve la belle église de S. Antonio. 

En suivant les panneaux officiels de randonnée, continuez en direction de Monte. Vous traverserez la route cantonale à différents endroits, alors faites attention avant de traverser !

Après environ 1 heure de marche, vous atteindrez le centre de Campora, un village historique de la Valle di Muggio. Le sentier confortable et large pénètre dans la forêt et de là, on monte légèrement en direction de Monte.
Le pittoresque village de Monte, situé sur un promontoire ensoleillé, offre diverses possibilités de rafraîchissement avant de reprendre le chemin de montagne qui mène à l'Alpe Caviano, en franchissant une dénivellation d'environ 300 mètres. 

L'Alpe Caviano, à 967 mètres d'altitude, est située sur le versant sud du massif du Monte Generoso. Après l'hospice du col du Gran San Bernardo, c'est le refuge alpin le plus méridionale de Suisse. De là, la vue s'étend du Basso Mendrisiotto à la métropole de Milan, le Duomo et les hauts bâtiments du centre sont clairement visibles, en passant par la vallée du Pô, le Monviso à la frontière avec la France et tout le groupe du Monte Rosa. 

Au refuge, il y a de l'eau potable provenant du réseau municipal, de l'eau chaude instantanée grâce à une bouilloire à gaz automatique, de l'électricité 220V/380V. Pas de connexion téléphonique, réception 3G (faible) à quelques mètres de la route, Wi-Fi gratuit. Petit garde-manger pour les boissons et les biens de consommation durables, service en plein air pour éviter de monter au premier étage aux invités de passage. Attention : le refuge n'est ouvert que sur réservation !

Pour descendre vers Castel San Pietro, il faut emprunter un chemin muletier caractéristique au fond pavé qui descend doucement et qui, en une heure de marche environ, nous ramène à notre point de départ.

Suggestions

  • Chaussures de randonnée
  • Casquette
  • Gourde
  • Lunettes de soleil
  • Crème solaire
  • Carte d’excursion
  • Appareil photo
  • Nourriture

Montagnepulite: Ce projet est né dans l’idée d’encourager la gestion efficace et durable des cabanes alpines du territoire tessinois, en particulier la gestion des déchets en altitude. La gestion responsable des déchets en montagne est une affaire de bon sens. Nous pouvons tous aider: https://www.montagnepulite.ch/fr/regles-d-or

Variantes

-

hikeTicino : l’App pour tous les itinéraires !