A fascinating culinary treasure hunt

THE PERFECT MOMENT
  • 14 september – 10.15
  • 25°
  • 367 m
  • Surprised

Six clues, six specialities and three hours to discover and savour a city. The FoodTrail Mendrisio is the perfect way to explore the capital of the Mendrisiotto and enjoy the mouthwatering delights it has to offer. History, architecture, views and local produce are the ingredients that make up this activity suitable for everyone.

You were right: you should have turned right. Instead, you followed the others and have come to a narrow street in the opposite direction from your mouthwatering target. Not to worry! You’ve just discovered a truly wonderful corner of Mendrisio and discovered why it’s known as the Magnifico Borgo. You stop to take some photos before continuing the hunt. 

You didn’t really know what to expect this morning when the tourist office gave you the instructions, the material and the first clue to help you start your history-packed and flavoursome journey of discovery. However, you already knew that Switzerland’s southernmost region was famous for its food and you were looking forward to sampling some delicious specialities, while exploring the city at the same time. 

You and your friends solved the first clue at once and the adventure got underway with a friendly smile from the shopkeeper who welcomed you with a tasty treat. Should you eat it straight away or wait until you’d collected all the tasty treasures? You didn’t stop to think for too long: the panino was too good… 

On your way to the next stop, you wonder whether it will involve Muggio Valley cheeses? Zincarlin? Or a savoury salami? You admire the narrow alleyways, the impressive church of Santi Cosima e Damiano, the cloisters in the former convent that now houses the art Museum, and the little church of Santa Maria in Borgo, a hidden gem. 

There’s no doubt about it: you’re having great fun and can’t wait to try the inviting pizza that will be served to you in the beautiful garden of the Academy of Architecture, perhaps on the very bench where Mario Botta once used to sit. 

Eric Notari, - master brewer of Officina della Birra
Eric Notari,master brewer of Officina della Birra
You might be interested also in the following story
Whether you prefer an Alpine or Mediterranean landscape, Ticino has both. What’s more, the mild climate offers an almost year-round cycling season.
Read the story

BELLINZONA - WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE

32°
  • Sunday 21 July
  • Max 32° / Min 17°
  • Precipitation 0%

WHAT'S THE WEATHER LIKE IN THE NEXT DAYS

Mon

19°-34°

Tue

20°-34°

Wed

20°-34°

Thu

21°-33°

IN THE SURROUNDINGS

USEFUL INFO

The FoodTrail is available from Tuesday to Friday, starting between 9 and 11:15 a.m. It departs from the Mendrisiotto Turismo headquarters, where you will be given the material and the first clue. 


CONTACTS
WHAT TO LISTEN TO

OTHER EXPERIENCES

À la chasse aux curiosités et aux spécialités

LE MOMENT PARFAIT
  • 14 septembre – 10.15
  • 25°
  • 367
  • Surpris

6 indices, 6 spécialités, 3 heures et une ville à découvrir et à déguster. Le FoodTrail Mendrisio est une chasse au trésor culinaire qui transforme le chef-lieu du Mendrisiotto en un lieu à déguster. L'histoire, l'architecture, le panorama et les produits typiques sont les ingrédients de cette activité qui s'adresse à tous.

Vous aviez raison. Il fallait tourner à droite. Au lieu de cela, après avoir suivi les autres, vous vous retrouvez maintenant dans une ruelle opposée à votre appétissant objectif. Mais tout compte fait, l'erreur s'est révélée positive: vous avez découvert un coin fantastique de Mendrisio et maintenant vous savez pourquoi on l'appelle le Magnifico Borgo. Avant de poursuivre la chasse, arrêtez-vous pour prendre quelques photos. 

Vous ne saviez pas très bien à quoi vous attendre ce matin, lorsqu'à l'office du tourisme, on vous a donné les indications, le matériel et le premier indice pour commencer votre parcours de découverte parmi les saveurs et l'histoire. Mais vous connaissiez déjà la réputation de la région la plus méridionale de la Suisse. Vous étiez donc prêt à déguster de délicieuses spécialités, tout en faisant quelques pas pour découvrir la ville. 

Vous et vos amies avez immédiatement résolu le premier indice et l'aventure a commencé avec le sourire de bienvenue du commerçant qui vous a accueilli en vous offrant un mets parfumé. Allez-vous la manger tout de suite ou préférez-vous attendre d'avoir rassemblé tous les trésors œnogastronomiques ? Vous n'avez pas réfléchi bien longtemps: ce sandwich était si bon... 

En route vers la prochaine expérience - s'agira-t-il des fromages du Val Muggio ? Ou est-ce que ce sera le zincalin ? Ou allez-vous goûter un petit saucisson savoureux ? - admirez les ruelles étroites, l'imposante église des Saints Cosima et Damiano, le cloître de l'ancien couvent qui abrite aujourd'hui le Musée d'art ou la petite église de Santa Maria in Borgo, un joyau artistique caché. 

Il n'y a rien à dire: vous vous amusez bien et avez maintenant hâte de déguster la pizza tentante que vous avez entre les mains dans le magnifique jardin de l’Académie d’architecture, peut-être exactement sur le banc où s'est assis l'architecte Mario Botta.

Eric Notari, - maître brasseur de la Officina della Birra
Eric Notari,maître brasseur de la Officina della Birra
Il pourrait vous intéresser aussi l'histoire suivante
Que tu veuilles des paysages alpins ou des terrains qui évoquent le Sud, tu peux trouver tout ça au Tessin. Et le climat doux permet d'y faire du VTT 365 jours par an.
À l'histoire

BELLINZONA - QUE TEMPS FAIT-IL AUJOURD'HUI

30°
  • Jeudi 18 Juillet
  • Max 30° / Min 16°
  • Précipitations 70%

QUE TEMPS FAIT-IL DANS LES PROCHAINS JOURS

ven.

16°-30°

sam.

17°-29°

dim.

17°-31°

lun.

18°-33°

QU'EST-CE QU'IL Y A DANS LES PARAGES

INFORMATIONS UTILES

Il est possible d'effectuer le foodtrail du mardi au vendredi, en commençant la chasse entre 9h et 11h15. Le départ se situe au siège de Mendrisiotto Turismo, où sont donnés le matériel et la première énigme. 


CONTACTS
QUELLE MUSIQUE DANS LES ECOUTEURS

AUTRES EXPÉRIENCES