146018
Image 0 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 1 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 2 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 3 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 4 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
From
to

Louis Kahn e Venezia

On the 12th October the exhibition "Louis Kahn and Venice" inaugurates the exhibition programme at the new USI Architecture Theatre in Mendrisio designed by Mario Botta. The exhibition is promoted by the Fondazione Teatro dell'architettura of Mendrisio and from the Accademia di Architettura of the Università della Svizzera italiana.

 

With this exhibition for the first time the deep bond between the American architect - one of the masters of the twentieth century - and the city of Venice is staged. It began in 1928 with his first visit to the Lagoon, continued in the following decades with other trips and consolidated with his participation at the Biennale, his friendship with Carlo Scarpa, the various lectures he gave and above all with his project, which remained on paper, for the Palazzo dei Congressi. These events, together with the related themes, are explored in depth in the exhibition thanks to models, graphic works, photographs, video installations, letters and other documents, some of them unpublished, from numerous international archives and private collections including The Architectural Archives-University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal, the Querini Stampalia Foundation in Venice, the collection of Sue Ann Kahn in New York and many others.

 

The theme of this first major exhibition resonates with the architectural characteristics of the Theatre of Architecture, establishing a link between the work of Louis Kahn, Venice and Ticino architecture. In its geometric force and its essential spatiality, the new building on the campus of the Academy of Architecture in Mendrisio, in fact, reveals the influence that Kahn had on the work of Mario Botta, who, as a student, collaborated with the American Master on the very occasion of his project for Venice, in the late sixties.

 

In 1969 Kahn presented his project for the new Palazzo dei Congressi at the Giardini di Venezia, together with that for a research centre for artistic creation, inaugurating the exhibition set up in the halls of the Palazzo Ducale (30 January-15 February 1969). In 1972 the possibility of building in the Giardini was definitively rejected, assuming a new location in the Arsenale area. The architect will adapt the project to the new site, but soon it will become clear that there is a lack of political will to create it, delivering it in the limbo of the missed opportunities for Venice.

 

Sections of the exhibition

The exhibition covers the three floors of the Teatro dell'architettura and is divided into thematic sections, in which projects developed between 1968 and 1972 are analyzed with the support of extensive documentation and where events, relationships and cultural debts are explored in depth: Kahn and Venice; Return to Europe; Giuseppe Mazzariol and the idea of Venice; Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier in Venice; The Lesson of Louis Kahn; Louis Kahn and Carlo Scarpa; The Design of Louis Kahn for Venice.

Features

  • CATEGORIES Exhibitions and fairs

146018
Image 0 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 1 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 2 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 3 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 4 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Du
au

Louis Kahn e Venezia

Le 12 octobre, l'exposition "Louis Kahn et Venise" inaugure le programme de l'exposition aupès du nouveau théâtre d'architecture de l'USI à Mendrisio, conçu par Mario Botta. L'exposition est promue par la Fondazione Teatro dell'architettura de Mendrisio et l'Accademia di architettura dell'Università della Svizzera italiana.

 

Avec "Louis Kahn et Venise", pour la première fois, le lien profond entre l'architecte américain - l'un des maîtres du XXe siècle - et la ville de Venise est mis en scène. Il a commencé en 1928 avec sa première visite à la Lagune, s'est poursuivi dans les décennies suivantes avec d'autres voyages et consolidé par sa participation à la Biennale, son amitié avec Carlo Scarpa, les différentes conférences qu'il a données et surtout avec son projet, qui est resté sur papier, pour le Palazzo dei Congressi. Ces événements, ainsi que les thèmes connexes, sont explorés en profondeur dans l'exposition grâce à des maquettes, des œuvres graphiques, des photographies, des installations vidéo, des lettres et d'autres documents, dont certains inédits, provenant de nombreuses archives internationales et de collections privées dont The Architectural Archives-University of Pennsylvania à Philadelphie, le Canadian Centre for Architecture à Montréal, la Fondation Querini Stampalia à Venise, la collection de Sue Ann Kahn à New York et bien d'autres.

 

Le thème de cette première grande exposition résonne avec les caractéristiques architecturales du Théâtre d'architecture, établissant un lien entre l'œuvre de Louis Kahn, Venise et l'architecture tessinoise. Dans sa force géométrique et sa spatialité essentielle, le nouveau bâtiment du campus de l'Académie d'architecture de Mendrisio, en effet, révèle l'influence de Kahn sur l'œuvre de Mario Botta, qui, en tant qu'étudiant, a collaboré avec le maître américain à l'occasion même de son projet pour Venise, à la fin des années soixante.

 

En 1969, Kahn a présenté son projet pour le nouveau Palais des Congrès aupès des Giardini di Venezia, ainsi que celui d'un centre de recherche pour la création artistique, inaugurant l'exposition installée dans les salles du Palais Ducal (30 janvier-15 février 1969). En 1972, la possibilité de construire dans les jardins a été définitivement rejetée, en supposant un nouvel emplacement dans la région d'Arsenale. L'architecte adaptera le projet au nouveau site, mais il deviendra bientôt clair qu'il y a un manque de volonté politique pour le créer, le livrant dans les limbes des opportunités manquées pour Venise.

 

Sections de l'exposition

L'exposition couvre les trois étages du Teatro dell'architettura et est divisée en sections thématiques, dans lesquelles les projets développés entre 1968 et 1972 sont analysés à l'aide d'une vaste documentation et où les événements, les relations et les dettes culturelles sont explorés en profondeur: Kahn et Venise ; Return to Europe ; Giuseppe Mazzariol et l'idée de Venise ; Frank Lloyd Wright et Le Corbusier à Venise ; The Lesson of Louis Kahn ; Louis Kahn et Carlo Scarpa ; The Design of Louis Kahn pour Venise.

Caractéristiques

  • TYPOLOGIE Expositions et foires