148088
Image 0 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
Image 1 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
Image 2 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
From
to

Jean Corty (1907-1946)

The exhibition is dedicated to the painter Jean Corty, one of the most appreciated Swiss painters, who was fascinated by Nordic Expressionism and whose artistic parabola was consumed in just twenty years.

 

Only the numerous works - landscapes of the surrounding area and figures - painted by him during his stay at the Cantonal Sociopsychiatric Hospital of Mendrisio, from 1933 to 1941, and donated by the painter himself to his doctor Olindo Bernasconi, whose descendants still preserve them. He has always encouraged him to paint, firmly believing in the therapeutic qualities of art. The catalogue contains texts by the curators and reproductions of all the works on display (about seventy, including oils and drawings), mostly unpublished.

It also retraces the history of the Cantonal Sociopsychiatric Hospital of Mendrisio, both from an architectural point of view and the treatments practiced there in those years, with a mention of the other artists who stayed there, including Filippo Franzoni.

Features

  • CATEGORIES Exhibitions and fairs

148088
Image 0 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
Image 1 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
Image 2 - Jean Corty (1907-1946)
Du
au

Jean Corty (1907-1946)

L'exposition est dédiée au peintre Jean Corty, l'un des peintres suisses les plus appréciés, qui était fasciné par l'expressionnisme nordique et dont la parabole artistique a été consommée en seulement vingt ans.

 

Seules les nombreuses œuvres - paysages des environs et figures - peintes par lui pendant son séjour à l'hôpital sociopsychiatrique cantonal de Mendrisio, de 1933 à 1941, et données par le peintre lui-même à son médecin Olindo Bernasconi, dont les descendants les conservent encore. Il l'a toujours encouragé à peindre, croyant fermement aux qualités thérapeutiques de l'art. Le catalogue contient des textes des conservateurs et des reproductions de toutes les œuvres exposées (environ soixante-dix, y compris des huiles et des dessins), pour la plupart inédites.

Il retrace également l'histoire de l'hôpital sociopsychiatrique cantonal de Mendrisio, tant d'un point de vue architectural que des traitements qui y étaient pratiqués à l'époque, avec une mention des autres artistes qui y ont séjourné, dont Filippo Franzoni.

Caractéristiques

  • TYPOLOGIE Expositions et foires