139656
Image 0 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 1 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 2 - Fiera di San Provino
From
to

Fiera di San Provino

Procession in the town’s streets, stalls, raffles, games. Gastronomic festival of Ravioli. Exhibit of vintage tractors, farming machinery and products. On Monday there will be a livestock and courtyard animal fair.

The San Provino Fete takes place every year, usually on the second Weekend of March, in Agno. Along with the religious celebrations honouring the Saint, Bishop of Como and worshipped in town throughout history, the Fete combines fun fairs and games, music and gastronomy and the large rural show, with exhibitions of agricultural machinery and products, livestock (cows, goats, sheeps and poultry), all until Monday.

In the past the San Provino Fete in Agno was of great importance and involved all in the Lugano region: it was the first Fete after the long Winter season. For any about to leave for work or life abroad, it was a chance to meet friends and relatives; for families, and especially for kids, San Provino was synonymous with fun: they could buy a little flute and they had the chance to walk around, among the "tiro a segno" (hit the target games), carousels, music, stands with candy floss, dried fruits and confetti. Young local people used to take the chance to propose, in the heady atmosphere; the girls used to receive as presents, paper or cloth flowers from the stands. Meanwhile the adults would meet at the "Osteria", where they could enjoy the traditional sweet ravioli, or in the space dedicated to livestock, negotiate and engage in business.

Features

  • CATEGORIES Enogastronomy , Local festivals , Music , Get-togethers

139656
Image 0 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 1 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 2 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 3 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 4 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 5 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 6 - Fiera di San Provino
Du
au

Fiera di San Provino

Procession dans les rues du village, manèges, stands, loteries et jeux. Fête gastronomique des raviolis. Exposition de tracteurs anciens, machines et produits agricoles, marché, foire aux bestiaux et animaux de basse-cour.

La fête de San Provino a lieu chaque année, d'habitude le deuxième weekend de mars, à Agno. Outre les célébrations religieuses en honneur du saint, évêque de Côme et vénéré dans le bourg depuis des temps immémoriaux, la fête offre de nombreuses animations (carrousels et jeux, musique et gastronomie) et la grande foire rurale, avec l'exposition de machineries et de produits agricoles ainsi que de bétail (vaches, chèvres, moutons, animaux de basse-cour), qui dure jusqu'à lundi.

Dans le passé la fête de San Provino d'Agno avait une grande importance et intéressait toute la région du Luganais: c'était la première fête après une longue saison d'hiver. Pour les émigrants qui s'apprêtaient à partir c'était un moment de rencontre; pour les familles, en particulier pour les enfants, San Provino était synonyme de divertissement: on leur achetait un pipeau et on leur permettait de rôder entre le stand de tir, les carrousels, les musiciens, les stands de barbe à papa, de fruits secs et de bonbons. Les jeunes de la région choisissaient la fête de San Provino pour "se déclarer", l'atmosphère de fête et de gaieté aidant; on offrait aux filles des fleurs en papier ou en tissu présentées sur les étalages. Les adultes se retrouvaient au bistrot, où l'on goûtait les traditionnels raviolis sucrés. Dans l'espace dédié à la foire au bétail on marchandait et faisait des affaires.

Caractéristiques

  • TYPOLOGIE Œnogastronomie , Fêtes populaires , Musique , Rassemblements