142011
Image 0 - Tremona

Tremona

Description

Tremona was first mentioned in a document dated 864. The name refers to the three hills (Castello, 650 m, Sant’Agata, 617 m and Grumo, 574 m) that frame the hollow containing the town. There has been a human settlement here since the first Neolithic period, as objects found in the Tremona–Castello archaeological site show. The site was inhabited during Roman times, while a castle protected the area in the Middle Ages (its ruins were unearthed in 2009); the area was later abandoned during the ten-year war between Como and Milan (13th century).

 

Like its neighbours, Tremona depended on the Pieve (parish) of Riva San Vitale for its spiritual and secular administration until it became an autonomous parish in 1493. The original parish church was that of Sant’Agata until 1770, when the church of Our Lady of the Assumption (already mentioned in documents in 1583) assumed this role. Tremona is an agricultural town, where wine-growing was (and still is) an especially important part of the local economy, together with livestock. With vineyards extending across the hills, Tremona is famed for its white Sant’Agata wine. Vines are even part of the town’s coat of arms, which features a silver pannier full of golden grapes atop three green hills on a red background.

 

The early 20th century saw a rapid decline in the population, a trend that continued until the 1960s (there were just 155 inhabitants in 1960). The population has since risen, due to the new residential character of this area. In fact, in the middle of the 1970s many artists from the other side of the Gotthard chose to live or holiday in Tremona (Max Weiss, Max Marti, Peter Keller and Walter Diggelmann to name but a few), leading to its nickname “piccola Ascona”. Since 2009, Tremona has been incorporated as a district in Mendrisio.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus

142011
Image 0 - Tremona

Tremona

Tremona, dont le nom, mentionné dans un document en 864, dérive des trois collines (Castello, 650 mètres, Sant'Agata, 617 mètres, et Grumo, 574 mètres) entourant la vallée où se trouve le village, est un bourg à flanc de coteau peuplé depuis le Néolithique inférieur, comme en témoignent les découvertes archéologiques du site de Tremona - Castello. Les implantations humaines se perpétuèrent également à l'époque romaine et au Moyen Âge, lorsque le village, protégé par un château dont les restes ont été trouvés en 2009, fut abandonné pendant la guerre de dix ans qui opposa Côme et Milan (XIIIe s.).

 

Tout comme les villes voisines, Tremona dépendait du point de vue de l'administration spirituelle et laïque de la Piève de Riva San Vitale, au moins jusqu'à la séparation qui eut lieu en 1493. Avant 1770, l'église paroissiale fut celle dédiée à sainte Agathe, remplacée plus tard par l'église de l'Assomption (documentée dès 1583). Tremona a toujours été un village à vocation agricole, où prédominaient la viticulture (pratiquée avec d'excellents résultats encore aujourd’hui) et l'élevage. L'importante extension du vignoble et la production du célèbre vin blanc de Sant'Agata sont également immortalisées sur le blason municipal qui montre, se détachant sur un fond rouge, un tonneau argenté rempli de grappes de raisin, reposant sur trois collines verdoyantes.

 

Depuis le début du XXe s. et jusqu'aux années 1960, le village connut un dépeuplement progressif (atteignant 155 habitants en 1960), compensé par une croissance démographique successive en raison de la nouvelle vocation résidentielle du bourg. Depuis le milieu des années 1970, Tremona (quartier de la ville de Mendrisio depuis 2009) est devenu un lieu de résidence ou de vacances pour de nombreux artistes provenant principalement de l’autre côté du Gothard (Max Weiss, Max Marti, Peter Keller et Walter Diggelmann pour n'en citer que quelques-uns), ce qui lui a valu le surnom parfaitement mérité de « petite Ascona ».

Caractéristiques

  • TRANSPORTS Bus