142106
Image 0
Image 1
Image 2

Brusino Arsizio

Description

First mentioned in an official document in 1167 (as Bruxia), Brusino Arsizio was probably already the site of a settlement in ancient times, as some artefacts from a despoiled Roman tomb found in 1970 would seem to show. This lakeside town once had a tower or similar fortification, as the name Castrum Brugini Arsitj and the tower in the municipal coat of arms would lead us to suppose. In the 8th century it was owned by the Totoniden family from Campione d’Italia, before coming under the control of Milan in the 13th century, further to the holdings of the monastery of St. Ambrose, which owned several tracts of land in and around Brusino.

 

The parish church of St. Michael – the patron saint of the village and whose cult was linked to the Lombard monarchy – was first mentioned in 1508, when the village became an independent parish, detaching itself from the Parish of Riva San Vitale. Since the Middle Ages the local economy has been based on fishing, forestry on the slopes of Mount San Giorgio and livestock, interspersed with seasonal migration. In 1798 Brusino Arsizio agreed, albeit somewhat half-heartedly, to join the short-lived Republic of Riva San Vitale (which lasted only about a month).

 

Over the course of the last century, Brusino Arsizio became a holiday resort, especially in the Serpiano area, with its hotel, cable car and the Kurhaus health spa. The population is now mostly engaged in the tertiary sector and many holiday homes have been built along the shores of Lake Lugano.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Navigation

142106
Image 0 - Brusino Arsizio
Image 1 - Brusino Arsizio
Image 2 - Brusino Arsizio

Brusino Arsizio

Mentionné pour la première fois dans un document officiel en 1167 (Bruxia), Brusino Arsizio était probablement déjà habité dans l’Antiquité, comme le suggèrent certains ornements retrouvés en 1970 dans une tombe romaine profanée. Dès le VIIIe s., le bourg lacustre, où aurait été construite une tour ou autre fortification (Castrum Brugini Arsitj, la tour est aussi représentée sur le blason de la commune), se retrouva sous le contrôle de la famille Totonidi de Campione, et passa au XIIIe s. sous l'influence de Milan, présent dans la région du fait du monastère de Saint-Ambroise, qui possédait plusieurs parcelles de terre à Brusino.

 

L'église paroissiale dédiée à saint Michel (le saint patron du village dont le culte est lié à la monarchie lombarde) est présente dans les textes depuis 1508, lorsque le village fut établi comme paroisse indépendante se détachant ainsi de la Piève de Riva San Vitale. Depuis le Moyen Age l'économie Brusino Arsizio repose sur la pêche, sur l'exploitation des forêts sur les pentes du Monte San Giorgio, sur l'élevage et sur l'émigration périodique. En 1798, Brusino Arsizio rejoint, sans conviction, la République éphémère de Riva San Vitale, expérience singulière qui dura environ un mois.

Au cours du siècle dernier, grâce à l'exploitation de la station climatique dans le bourg de Serpiano, qui vit la construction d'un complexe hôtelier et d'un funiculaire, et la mise en place d'un Kurhaus, la municipalité de Brusino Arsizio, dont la population est actuellement employée principalement dans le secteur tertiaire, a développé une vocation touristique et les rives du Ceresio ont vu émerger de nombreuses maisons de vacances.

Caractéristiques

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Navigation