Platform for the systematic registration of accommodation establishments rented out for tourist purposes


As of 1 February 2022, the new procedure for tourist accommodation rented out on online platforms (Airbnb, Booking.com, Expedia, e-domizil, etc.) and offline platforms (brochures, etc.) has come into force. The new bill is a key element in guaranteeing the quality, competitiveness and security of the tourism and hotel sector as a whole. 

Context


In recent years, our canton has also seen a sharp rise in the number of beds rented out for tourist purposes (rooms, flats and private houses), which now account for almost a quarter of the tourist offer. 

The introduction of the new law allows for the precise mapping of tourist accommodation in Ticino, without changing the current system for collecting tourist taxes.

This is an important step, reflecting the evolution of the accommodation sector, which allows equal treatment with the hotel sector and creates new synergies and opportunities.

Ticino is the first Swiss canton to include the request for an identification number in the procedure, a practice that has already been successfully introduced in other European and international cities.

Identification number


As of the 1st of February 2022 all accommodation providers have one year to apply for an identification number.

The new registration procedure applies to all accommodation  with 1 to 4 beds, all campsites, huts and farm holidays. Accommodation subject to the Law on Hotels and Restaurants (Lear), such as hotels, can use the number on their cantonal authorization.

Appartements and properties with more than 4 beds that do not yet have a cantonal authorization must follow the Lear procedure (for more information click here). At the end of the procedure they will automatically receive an identification number.

The identification number must be specified in every advertisement on online platforms, websites and offline publications.

Apply for an identification number

Procedure


The identification number will be issued immediately after the registration process has been completed.

Information collected through the electronic form will then be forwarded both to the relevant regional tourist organisation and to the municipality where the accommodation is located. The municipality will have six months to validate the issuance of the identification number, verifying that the accommodation in question complies with current building regulations and legal provisions in order to confirm the suitability of the facilities. 

Important: during the period between submission of the form and approval by the municipality, the accommodation in question can continue to be rented out for tourist use by entering the identification number received at the end of the registration process on the various platforms.

This is the procedure to be followed:

Complete the form. One application per place of accommodation. It is possible for the same user to register more than one property.

Step 2


Submit the completed form.

Step 3

The identification number is generated instantaneously.

Step 4


You can continue to market your tourist accommodation by entering the identification number you have just received on the various sales platforms.

Step 5

The municipality will have six months to validate/reject the application.

Step 6


Notifying the police about guests


Accommodation providers, regardless of whether or not they are subject to the Law on Hotels and Restaurants (LEAR), will have to report all overnight stays in their facilities using the new Online Notifications portal within 24 hours of the guests’ arrival. A comprehensive guide on how to use the portal is available at this link.

Tourist tax


The tourist tax is intended exclusively for financing tourism infrastructures, assistance, information and entertainment. All persons staying overnight in a municipality that is not their place of residence pursuant to the Swiss Civil Code, as guests in hotels, guesthouses, youth hostels, restaurants with accommodation, campsites, collective accommodation, huts, flats and holiday homes, camper vans and other similar establishments or vehicles, are required to pay tourist tax. Accommodation providers and owners of rented flats and holiday homes are responsible for collecting and remitting the tourist tax to the RTOs (regional tourist organisations). 
 

Promotion tax


The promotion tax is intended for financing activities to promote tourism. All accommodation providers are required to pay this tax.

Bellinzona e valli

Piazza Collegiata 12
6500 Bellinzona

Tel: +41 91 825 21 31
Fax: +41 91 821 41 20

[email protected]

Casella postale
6600 Locarno

Tel: +41 848 091 091
Fax: +41 91 759 76 94

[email protected]

Regione del Luganese

Piazza della Riforma, Palazzo Civico
6900 Lugano

Tel: +41 58 220 65 00
Fax: +41 58 866 66 09

[email protected]

Via Angelo Maspoli 15
6850 Mendrisio

Tel: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59

[email protected]

Portal zur systematischen Registrierung von Unterkünften, die zu Urlaubszwecken an Touristen vermietet werden


Ab 1. Februar ist das neue Verfahren für Touristenunterkünfte, die über Onlineplattformen (Airbnb, Booking.com, Expedia, e-domizil etc.) und offline (über Broschüren etc.) vermietet werden, in Kraft getreten. Der neue Gesetzesentwurf ist ein wichtiger Schritt, um die Qualität, die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und die Sicherheit der gesamten Hotel- und Übernachtungsbranche zu gewährleisten. 

Kontext


In den vergangenen Jahren konnte man auch in unserem Kanton eine starke Zunahme der Vermietung von Touristenunterkünften (Zimmern, Wohnungen und Privathäusern) beobachten, die heute fast ein Viertel des Tourismusangebots ausmachen. 

Die Einführung des neuen Gesetzes ermöglicht eine genaue Erfassung der Unterkünfte im Kanton Tessin, die an Urlauber vermietet werden; am derzeitigen System zur Einziehung der Kurtaxe ändert sich nichts.

Ein wichtiger Schritt, der die Entwicklung der Beherbergungsbetriebe widerspiegelt und durch den die Gleichbehandlung mit der Hotelbranche gefördert wird und neue Synergien und Chancen eröffnet werden.

Das Tessin ist der erste Schweizer Kanton, der eine obligatorische Identifikationsnummer eingeführt hat, eine Praxis, die in anderen europäischen und internationalen Städten bereits erfolgreich umgesetzt wurde.

Die Identifikationsnummer


Ab 1. Februar 2022 hat jeder Vermieter ein Jahr lang Zeit zur Beantragung der Identifikationsnummer.

Das neue Registrierungsverfahren gilt für alle Betriebe mit 1 bis 4 Betten, alle Campingplätze, Hütten und Bauernhöfe. Betriebe wie z.B Hotels, die dem Lear-Gesetz unterstehen (Legge sugli esercizi alberghieri e sulla ristorazione), können die Nummer auf ihrer kantonalen Bewilligung verwenden.

Wohnungen und Betriebe mit mehr als 4 Betten, die noch nicht über eine kantonale Bewilligung verfügen, müssen das von Lear vorgesehene Verfahren einhalten (siehe hier). Sobald das Verfahren abgeschlossen ist, erhalten sie automatisch eine Identifikationsnummer.

Die Identifikationsnummer muss in jeder Anzeige auf Online-Plattformen, Websites und in Offline-Publikationen angegeben werden.

Identifikationsnummer beantragen

Verfahren


Die Identifikationsnummer wird unmittelbar nach der Registrierung vergeben.

Die über das Online-Formular erhobenen Angaben werden sowohl an der zuständige regionale Tourismusorganisation als auch der Standortgemeinde des Mietobjekts mitgeteilt. Die Gemeinde hat sechs Monate Zeit, um die Erteilung der Identifikationsnummer zu prüfen und zu kontrollieren, ob das jeweilige Objekt die aktuellen Bauvorschriften und gesetzlichen Bestimmungen erfüllt und zu bestätigen, dass es als Touristenunterkunft geeignet ist. 

Wichtig: In der Zeit zwischen der Zustellung des Formulars und der Genehmigung durch die Gemeinde kann das Objekt weiterhin an Touristen vermietet werden, wobei auf den verschiedenen Plattformen, die nach Abschluss des Registrierungsverfahrens zugewiesene Identifikationsnummer anzugeben ist.

Vorgehensweise:
 

Füllen Sie das Formular aus. Eine Anfrage pro Unterkunft. Es ist möglich, mehrere Unterkünfte unter ein und demselben Nutzer zu registrieren.

Schritt 2


Senden Sie das vollständige Formular ab.

Schritt 3

Die Identifikationsnummer wird umgehend vergeben.

Schritt 4


Sie können Ihre Unterkunft weiterhin Touristen zur Miete anbieten, indem Sie die zugeteilte Identifikationsnummer auf den verschiedenen Verkaufsplattformen einfügen.

Schritt 5

Die Gemeinde hat sechs Monate Zeit, um den zugestellten Antrag zu genehmigen/abzulehnen.

Schritt 6


Polizeiliche Meldung der Gäste


Die Betreiber der Unterkünfte sind verpflichtet, alle Übernachtungen in ihren Beherbergungsstrukturen innerhalb von 24 Stunden ab Ankunft der Gäste über das neue Portal Online-Meldung zu melden, unabhängig davon, ob sie dem Hotellerie- und Gastronomie-Gesetz (Lear) unterstehen oder auch nicht. Eine umfassende Anweisung zur Funktionsweise des Portals finden Sie unter diesem Link.
 

Kurtaxe


Die Kurtaxe ist ausschliesslich für die Finanzierung der Tourismus-Infrastrukturen, der Unterstützung der Gäste, der Informierung und der Animationsangebote bestimmt. Kurtaxe entrichten müssen alle Personen, die in einer Gemeinde übernachten, die nicht ihr Wohnsitz im Sinne des Schweizerischen Zivilgesetzbuches ist, wie Gäste in Hotels, Pensionen, Jugendherbergen, Gasthäusern, auf Campingplätzen, in Massenlagern, Hütten, Ferienwohnungen und Ferienhäusern, Campern und anderen vergleichbaren Einrichtungen oder Fahrzeugen. Die Betreiber von Unterkünften und Eigentümer von Ferienwohnungen und Ferienhäusern, die vermietet werden, sind für die Einziehung der Kurtaxe und die Überweisung an die Regionalen Tourismusbüros verantwortlich. 
 

Tourismusförderungstaxe


Die Tourismusförderungstaxe dient der Finanzierung von Tätigkeiten zur Förderung des Tourismusangebots. Alle Betreiber von Unterkünften sind zur Zahlung der Tourismusförderungstaxe verpflichtet.

Bellinzona e valli

Piazza Collegiata 12
6500 Bellinzona

Tel: +41 91 825 21 31
Fax: +41 91 821 41 20

[email protected]

Casella postale
6600 Locarno

Tel: +41 848 091 091
Fax: +41 91 759 76 94

[email protected]

Regione del Luganese

Piazza della Riforma, Palazzo Civico
6900 Lugano

Tel: +41 58 220 65 00
Fax: +41 58 866 66 09

[email protected]

Via Angelo Maspoli 15
6850 Mendrisio

Tel: +41 91 641 30 50
Fax: +41 91 641 30 59

[email protected]