142355

Valle di Blenio Bike

This route links Olivone with Biasca and can be travelled in either direction. The route features many historical and cultural testaments to the valley's past.

 

The route winds along the valley floor past numerous testaments to the valley’s history. From Olivone towards Biasca, after passing the small village of Ponto Aquilesco and the hamlet of Aquila along mule tracks and hiking paths you reach the hamlet of Dangio and pass Cima Norma, the old chocolate factory which produced up to 1,500 tonnes of chocolate and employed more than 300 workers in the 1940s and 1950s, making a significant contribution to the valley’s economy in the last century.

 

A short rise on a path leads to the hill where the Curterio Castle once stood, although there are no significant remnants of it left today. The Oath of Torre was signed here in 1182, in which the inhabitants of Blenio and Leventina expressed their desire to remain free, with no jurisdiction other than that of the Milanese.

 

The route then continues towards Lottigna, home of the Blenio Museum, then descends along a path to the Terme di Acquarossa hot spring, renowned throughout Switzerland as a spa. The current building, which has been closed since 1971, was inaugurated in 1886.

 

Continuing along the old Satro road you arrive at the hamlet of Dongio, passing through an area of caves and vineyards, where the «houses of the pagans» can be made out hollowed out of the rocks overlooking the town.

 

The route then continues between Motto and Malvaglia on a section of dirt road following the Biasca-Acquarossa railway line, created in 1911 and dismantled in 1973. After passing through the hamlet of Malvaglia you take the end of the path from Legiuna, a floodplain of national importance.

DepartureOlivone
ArrivalBiasca
Itinerary features
Typology
Linear
Duration
2H
Difficulty
Easy
 
Length
25.18 KM
Unsurfaced
14 KM
Single Trail
4 KM
Saturday 24 February
MAX 8° / MIN -2°
rainfall 5%
wind light
Weather forecast for the next days

Sun
4° -2°

Mon
1° -6°

Tue
0° -9°

Wed
2° -8°

Thu
2° -6°
Tips

For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Valle di Blenio Bike
no. 387

Tourism Organization Addresses

Bellinzonese e Alto Ticino
Sede Valle di Blenio

Zona Lavorceno
CH-6718 Olivone
T +41 91 872 14 87
F +41 91 872 15 12
[email protected]
www.bellinzonese-altoticino.ch

 

Download the hikeTicino App

This allows you to:

  • - Explore the itineraries around you
  • - Discover the itineraries on foot, to suit all tastes

You don’t know Ticino? The App will help you discover the itineraries closest to you. You may already be on a route!

You can download the hikeTicino App here as well, if you have an App that reads QR codes.

You can’t download the App? Perhaps your smartphone is not up to date. Try updating it with your computer, or otherwise contact the customer service for help.

142355
Image 0 - Valle di Blenio Bike
Image 1 - Valle di Blenio Bike
Image 2 - Valle di Blenio Bike
Image 3 - Valle di Blenio Bike

Valle di Blenio Bike

Die Strecke führt von Olivone nach Biasca und ist in beide Richtungen befahrbar. Die Tour führt an zahlreichen historischen und kulturellen Schätzen des Tals vorbei.

Die Tour durch das Tal führt an zahlreichen historischen Schätzen vorbei. Los geht es von Olivone aus in Richtung Biasca. Über unbefestigte Wege und Maultierpfade vorbei am Ortskern von Ponto Aquilesco und der Ortschaft Aquila erreicht man hinter der Cima Norma, einer alten Schokoladenfabrik, in den 40er- und 50er-Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts mit einem Produktionsvolumen von 1500 Tonnen Schokolade und mehr als 300 Arbeitern ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor im Tal, den Ortsteil Dangio.

Ein kurzer Anstieg führt auf den Hügel, auf dem einst das Schloss Castello di Curterio stand, von dem allerdings kaum noch etwas übrig ist. Hier wurde im Jahr 1182 der Patto di Torre geschlossen, in dem die Bezirke Blenio und Leventina ihren Wunsch bekundeten, unabhängig zu bleiben und sich allein der Gerichtsbarkeit Mailands zu unterwerfen.

Der Weg führt weiter in Richtung Lottigna, wo das Museo di Blenio steht. Von dort aus geht es über einen Pfad bergab zu den Terme di Acquarossa, einer bekannten Schweizer Kurstätte. Das zugehörige Gebäude, seit 1971 geschlossen, war 1886 eingeweiht worden.

Über die historische Strasse des Satro erreicht man anschliessend die Ortschaft Dongio, vorbei an Grotten und Weinbergen, wo man von der Strecke aus mit blossem Auge die Casa dei Pagani, alte Wehranlagen in den Felsen des Bleniotals, bewundern kann.

Zwischen Motto und Malvaglia geht es weiter über Schotter an der Bahnlinie Biasca-Acquarossa entlang, 1911 errichtet und 1973 stillgelegt.

Die letzte Etappe der Tour hinter der Ortschaft Malvaglia führt durch die Leguina, eine national bedeutende Flussebene.

Copyright Foto: Redesign

Tipps

Folgen Sie dem abgebildeten Logo auf der roten Wegweisung für das Mountainbiken:
Valle di Blenio Bike
Nr. 387

Varianten

-

In der Nähe der Route

hikeTicino: Die App für alle Routen!