148623
Image 0 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 1 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 2 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 3 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 4 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 5 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 6 - Valle Morobbia Bike

Valle Morobbia Bike

A route that takes you through the characteristic Morobbia Valley, following the path taken by the historic cycle race Giubiasco-Carena. The view of the Magadino Plain is magnificent, and on the descent you can enjoy a splendid panorama of the three UNESCO Castles of Bellinzona. 

The starting point is Giubiasco, the most southerly quarter of the municipality of Bellinzona overlooking the Magadino Plain. From Giubiasco railway station, you’ll reach Piazza Grande, one of the largest squares in the canton and the crown jewel of the city of Bellinzona with its magnificent carpet of green dotted with a dozen sculptures by contemporary artists. From here, the cantonal road climbs into Morobbia Valley, crossed by the river of the same name, up to the San Jorio pass.

Cycling among the hills with their vineyards, the view extends out to the mountains and the Magadino Plain all the way to Lake Maggiore. In Carena, you’ll leave the tarmacked road to turn into a single trail towards the Paudo mountains, through a beautiful chestnut wood. You’ll have to push your mountain bike a few times in this section. Later, between the mountains of Paudo and the mountains of Ravecchia, you’ll continue along another tarmacked section of the route. 

Then the descent towards Bellinzona starts. During the descent, you can admire the three medieval Castles of Bellinzona from close range, which have been listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2000. A steep mule track zigzags down towards the Castello di Sasso Corbaro, perched on a rocky outcrop, passing by the Castello di Montebello to arrive at the railway station in Bellinzona. The path is in very good condition, but you will need to pay particular attention if wet. 

Tips

For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts:
Valle Morobbia Bike - 392

Alternative routes

-

hikeTicino: the App for all itineraries!

148623
Image 0 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 1 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 2 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 3 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 4 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 5 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 6 - Valle Morobbia Bike
Image 7 - Valle Morobbia Bike

Valle Morobbia Bike

Eine Route, die entlang der historischen Radrennstrecke Giubiasco-Carena durch das pittoreske Morobbiatal führt. Es bietet sich eine herrliche Aussicht auf die Magadinoebene und bei der Abfahrt hat man einen wunderschönen Blick auf die drei Weltkulturerbe-Burgen von Bellinzona. 

Ausgangspunkt ist Giubiasco, der südlichste Ortsteil von Bellinzona, der an die Magadinoebene grenzt. Vom Bahnhof in Giubiasco erreicht man die Piazza Grande, einen den grössten Plätze des Kantons und Schmuckstück der Stadt Bellinzona, mit seinem prächtigen Grün und zahlreichen Skulpturen zeitgenössischer Künstler. Von hier aus führt die Kantonsstrasse das Morobbiatal hinauf, durch das der gleichnamige Fluss fliesst, bis zum San-Jorio-Pass.

Auf der Fahrt durch Weinberge reicht der Ausblick auf die Berge und die Magadinoebene bis zum Lago Maggiore. In Carena geht es dann auf einen Singletrail, der durch einen schönen Kastaniengarten bis zu den Monti di Paudo führt. Auf diesem Abschnitt muss das Mountainbike gelegentlich geschoben werden. Danach geht es dann zwischen den Monti di Paudo und den Monti di Ravecchia wieder auf einer asphaltierten Strasse weiter.

Schliesslich geht es wieder hinab nach Bellinzona. Bei der Abfahrt kann man die drei mittelalterlichen Burgen von Bellinzona aus der Nähe bewundern, die seit dem Jahr 2000 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO gehören. Ein steiler Saumpfad schlängelt sich hin zur Burg Sasso Corbaro, die auf einen Felssporn thront, und dann weiter vorbei an der Burg Montebello, bis man schliesslich zum Bahnhof von Bellinzona gelangt. Die Strecke ist in sehr gutem Zustand, allerdings ist bei Nässe besondere Vorsicht geboten. 

Karte: PDF

Tipps

Folgen Sie dem abgebildeten Logo auf der roten Wegweisung für das Mountainbiken:
Valle Morobbia Bike - 392

Varianten

-

hikeTicino: Die App für alle Routen!