146018
Image 0 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 1 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 2 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 3 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 4 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
From
to

Louis Kahn e Venezia

On the 12th October the exhibition "Louis Kahn and Venice" inaugurates the exhibition programme at the new USI Architecture Theatre in Mendrisio designed by Mario Botta. The exhibition is promoted by the Fondazione Teatro dell'architettura of Mendrisio and from the Accademia di Architettura of the Università della Svizzera italiana.

 

With this exhibition for the first time the deep bond between the American architect - one of the masters of the twentieth century - and the city of Venice is staged. It began in 1928 with his first visit to the Lagoon, continued in the following decades with other trips and consolidated with his participation at the Biennale, his friendship with Carlo Scarpa, the various lectures he gave and above all with his project, which remained on paper, for the Palazzo dei Congressi. These events, together with the related themes, are explored in depth in the exhibition thanks to models, graphic works, photographs, video installations, letters and other documents, some of them unpublished, from numerous international archives and private collections including The Architectural Archives-University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal, the Querini Stampalia Foundation in Venice, the collection of Sue Ann Kahn in New York and many others.

 

The theme of this first major exhibition resonates with the architectural characteristics of the Theatre of Architecture, establishing a link between the work of Louis Kahn, Venice and Ticino architecture. In its geometric force and its essential spatiality, the new building on the campus of the Academy of Architecture in Mendrisio, in fact, reveals the influence that Kahn had on the work of Mario Botta, who, as a student, collaborated with the American Master on the very occasion of his project for Venice, in the late sixties.

 

In 1969 Kahn presented his project for the new Palazzo dei Congressi at the Giardini di Venezia, together with that for a research centre for artistic creation, inaugurating the exhibition set up in the halls of the Palazzo Ducale (30 January-15 February 1969). In 1972 the possibility of building in the Giardini was definitively rejected, assuming a new location in the Arsenale area. The architect will adapt the project to the new site, but soon it will become clear that there is a lack of political will to create it, delivering it in the limbo of the missed opportunities for Venice.

 

Sections of the exhibition

The exhibition covers the three floors of the Teatro dell'architettura and is divided into thematic sections, in which projects developed between 1968 and 1972 are analyzed with the support of extensive documentation and where events, relationships and cultural debts are explored in depth: Kahn and Venice; Return to Europe; Giuseppe Mazzariol and the idea of Venice; Frank Lloyd Wright and Le Corbusier in Venice; The Lesson of Louis Kahn; Louis Kahn and Carlo Scarpa; The Design of Louis Kahn for Venice.

Features

  • CATEGORIES Exhibitions and fairs

146018
Image 0 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 1 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 2 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 3 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Image 4 - Louis Kahn e Venezia
Von
bis

Louis Kahn e Venezia

Beschreibung

Am 12. Oktober eröffnet die Ausstellung "Louis Kahn und Venedig": das Ausstellungsprogramm im neuen USI Architekturtheater in Mendrisio, das von Mario Botta entworfen wurde. Die Ausstellung wird von der Fondazione Teatro dell'architettura von Mendrisio und der Accademia di Architettura dell' Università della Svizzera italiana gefördert.

 

Mit "Louis Kahn und Venedig" wird erstmals die tiefe Verbundenheit zwischen dem amerikanischen Architekten - einem der Meister des 20. Jahrhunderts - und der Stadt Venedig inszeniert. 1928 begann er mit seinem ersten Besuch in der Lagune, setzte sich in den folgenden Jahrzehnten mit weiteren Reisen fort und festigte mit seiner Teilnahme an der Biennale, seiner Freundschaft mit Carlo Scarpa, den verschiedenen Vorträgen, die er hielt, und vor allem mit seinem Projekt, das auf Papier blieb, für den Palazzo dei Congressi. Diese Ereignisse und die damit verbundenen Themen werden in der Ausstellung anhand von Modellen, Grafiken, Fotografien, Videoinstallationen, Briefen und anderen, zum Teil unveröffentlichten Dokumenten aus zahlreichen internationalen Archiven und Privatsammlungen wie The Architectural Archives-University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, dem Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montreal, der Querini Stampalia Foundation in Venedig, der Sammlung von Sue Ann Kahn in New York und vielen anderen eingehend untersucht.

 

Das Thema dieser ersten großen Ausstellung greift die architektonischen Besonderheiten des Theaters der Architektur auf und stellt eine Verbindung zwischen dem Werk von Louis Kahn, Venedig und der Tessiner Architektur her. Der Neubau auf dem Campus der Architekturakademie in Mendrisio zeigt in seiner geometrischen Kraft und seiner wesentlichen Räumlichkeit den Einfluss, den Kahn auf das Werk von Mario Botta hatte, der als Student gerade bei seinem Projekt für Venedig Ende der sechziger Jahre mit dem amerikanischen Meister zusammenarbeitete.

 

1969 präsentierte Kahn sein Projekt für den neuen Palazzo dei Congressi in den Giardini di Venezia, zusammen mit dem für ein Forschungszentrum für künstlerisches Schaffen, das die Ausstellung in den Sälen des Palazzo Ducale (30. Januar - 15. Februar 1969) eröffnete. Im Jahr 1972 wurde die Möglichkeit, in den Giardini zu bauen, endgültig abgelehnt, indem ein neuer Standort im Arsenale-Gebiet angenommen wurde. Der Architekt wird das Projekt an den neuen Standort anpassen, aber bald wird sich herausstellen, dass es an politischem Willen mangelt, es zu schaffen, und es in der Vorhölle der verpassten Möglichkeiten für Venedig abliefern.

 

Ausschnitte aus der Ausstellung

Die Ausstellung umfasst die drei Etagen des Teatro d'architettura und gliedert sich in thematische Abschnitte, in denen die zwischen 1968 und 1972 entwickelten Projekten mithilfe umfangreicher Dokumentationen analysiert werden. Ausserdem werden Ereignisse, Beziehungen und kulturelle Schulden eingehend untersucht: Kahn und Venedig; Rückkehr nach Europa; Giuseppe Mazzariol und die Idee von Venedig; Frank Lloyd Wright und Le Corbusier in Venedig; The Lesson of Louis Kahn; Louis Kahn und Carlo Scarpa; The Design of Louis Kahn for Venice.

Eigenschaften

  • TYPOLOGIE Ausstellungen und Messen