147724
Image 0 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
Image 1 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
Image 2 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
From
to

Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019

An artist of international renown based in Belgium, Koen Vanmechelen has centered his work on the relation between nature and culture throughout the course of an almost forty- year-long journey. Acclaimed for his exploration of the intersections between art and science, the artist tries, through his projects, to understand and pose questions on the great challenges of the 21st century.

 

Sculptor, painter, performer, filmmaker and scholar, as well as a human rights advocate, the artist has rounded out his projects for the hybridization of both animals and plants with the contamination of the figurative arts, of materials and media making formal proliferation within conceptual complexity his own personal earmark on a creative universe that is as unique as it is unmistakable.

 

His art is at the same time the expression of both an aesthetic of wonder and an ethic that is rooted in the very worth of life. From the first wooden sculptures in the 80s, to a vast project of research ? aimed at the generation of new breeds of poultry ? to the recent opening of an immense bio-cultural diversity park called LABIOMISTA, where great architectures and natural landscapes are inhabited by installations, artworks and birds of the most disparate kinds.

 

Koen Vanmechelen. The Worth of Life 1982-2019 curated by Didi Bozzini, is an exhibition of more than sixty-five pieces ? which were all realized between 1982 and 2019 ? intended to highlight the more strictly plastic aspects of this artist’s body of work, with particular regard to his neo-baroque disposition.

Features

  • OPENING Mon... Tue: Chiuso / Geschlossen / Fermé / Closed
    Wed: 12:00 - 18:00
    Thu: 14:00 - 20:00
    Fri... Sun: 12:00 - 18:00
  • CATEGORIES Exhibitions and fairs

147724
Image 0 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
Image 1 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
Image 2 - Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019
Von
bis

Koen Vanmechelen - The worth of life - 1982/2019

Der belgische Künstler von internationalem Ruf, bekannt für seine Experimente und Verunreinigungen zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft, Koen Vanmechelen hat seine Arbeit auf die Beziehung zwischen Natur und Kultur konzentriert und versucht, durch seine Kunst die großen Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu verstehen und zu hinterfragen.


 
Bildhauer, Maler, Performer, Videoasta, Wissenschaftler sowie Menschenrechtsaktivist - auf einer Reise von fast vierzig Jahren - hat die Künstlerin Projekte der Hybridisierung von Tieren oder Pflanzen zur Kontamination der figurativen Künste, Materialien und Ausdrucksmittel kombiniert und die Formverbreitung in der konzeptuellen Komplexität zum Markenzeichen einer Poesie gemacht, die ebenso einzigartig wie unverwechselbar ist.


 
Seine Kunst ist zugleich Ausdruck einer Wunderästhetik und einer Ethik, die auf dem Wert des Lebens basiert, von den ersten Holzschnitzereien der 80er Jahre über die Entwicklung eines umfangreichen Forschungsprogramms zur Schaffung neuer Geflügelrassen bis hin zur jüngsten Schaffung eines beeindruckenden Biodiversitätsparks namens LABIOMISTA, in dem zwischen großer Architektur und Landschaft Installationen, Werke und Vögel der unterschiedlichsten Arten nebeneinander existieren.


 
In der von Didi Bozzini kuratierten Ausstellung Koen Vanmechelen - The Worth of Life - 1982/2019 erzählen über 65 Werke, die zwischen 1982 und 2019 entstanden sind, den artikulierten künstlerischen Weg und betonen die rein plastischen Aspekte des Werkes des Künstlers, wobei sein neobarocker Charakter besonders berücksichtigt wird.

Eigenschaften

  • GEÖFFNET Mo... Di: Chiuso / Geschlossen / Fermé / Closed
    Mi: 12:00 - 18:00
    Do: 14:00 - 20:00
    Fr... So: 12:00 - 18:00
  • TYPOLOGIE Ausstellungen und Messen