139656
Image 0 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 1 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 2 - Fiera di San Provino
From
to

Fiera di San Provino

Procession in the town’s streets, stalls, raffles, games. Gastronomic festival of Ravioli. Exhibit of vintage tractors, farming machinery and products. On Monday there will be a livestock and courtyard animal fair.

The San Provino Fete takes place every year, usually on the second Weekend of March, in Agno. Along with the religious celebrations honouring the Saint, Bishop of Como and worshipped in town throughout history, the Fete combines fun fairs and games, music and gastronomy and the large rural show, with exhibitions of agricultural machinery and products, livestock (cows, goats, sheeps and poultry), all until Monday.

In the past the San Provino Fete in Agno was of great importance and involved all in the Lugano region: it was the first Fete after the long Winter season. For any about to leave for work or life abroad, it was a chance to meet friends and relatives; for families, and especially for kids, San Provino was synonymous with fun: they could buy a little flute and they had the chance to walk around, among the "tiro a segno" (hit the target games), carousels, music, stands with candy floss, dried fruits and confetti. Young local people used to take the chance to propose, in the heady atmosphere; the girls used to receive as presents, paper or cloth flowers from the stands. Meanwhile the adults would meet at the "Osteria", where they could enjoy the traditional sweet ravioli, or in the space dedicated to livestock, negotiate and engage in business.

Features

  • CATEGORIES Enogastronomy , Local festivals , Music , Get-togethers

139656
Image 0 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 1 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 2 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 3 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 4 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 5 - Fiera di San Provino
Image 6 - Fiera di San Provino
Von
bis

Fiera di San Provino

Prozession in den Strassen des Dorfes, Lunapark, Stände, Lotterie, Spiele. Gastronomiefest der Ravioli. Ausstellung von Landwirtschaftsmaschinen und landwirtschaftlichen Produkten sowie von Oldtimer Traktoren, Markt, Vieh- und Hoftiermesse.

Das Fest des Heiligen Provino wird jedes Jahr in Agno ausgetragen, gewöhnlich am zweiten Wochenende im März. Neben religiösen Zeremonien in Erinnerung an den Heiligen, der Bischof von Como war und seit vielen Jahrzehnten von den Dorfbewohnern verehrt wird, bietet das dreitägige Fest zahlreiche Unterhaltungsmöglichkeiten (Turniere und Spiele, Musik und Gastronomie), eine grosse Landwirtschaftsmesse mit Maschinen und Produkten sowie ein Viehmarkt mit Kühen, Ziegen und Hoftieren.

In der Vergangenheit genoss das San Provino-Fest in Agno als erstes Volksfest nach den langen Wintermonaten besondere Bedeutung und war ein Anziehungspunkt für die ganze Region um die Stadt Lugano. Für Auswanderer galt die Veranstaltung als Gelegenheit, alte Freunde und Bekannte wieder zu treffen; Familien, insbesondere Kinder, verbanden San Provino mit Freude und Unterhaltung. Sie vergnügten sich am Schiessstand und am Karussell und deckten sich an den Marktständen mit Zuckerwatte, getrockneten Früchten und Süssigkeiten ein. Jugendliche nutzten die fröhliche Atmosphäre des Volksfestes dazu, ihre Angebeteten zu umwerben; Mädchen beschenkten sich mit Papier- und Stoffblumen. Die Erwachsenen hingegen trafen sich in den sogenannten Osterien, wo sie die traditionellen süssen Ravioli genossen. Der Viehmarkt bot die Möglichkeit, neue Verträge abzuschliessen und Geschäfte zu tätigen.

Eigenschaften

  • TYPOLOGIE Önogastronomie , Volksfeste , Musik , Treffen