93073
Image 0 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 1 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 2 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 3 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 4 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 5 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 6 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style

Lugano, swiss mediterranean style

Description

Probably nobody thinks of work when sitting on Lugano’s Piazza Riforma, in front of the magnificent town hall enjoying “dolce far niente” in the Caffè Federale or at Vanini’s. Thanks to this southern nonchalance it easy to forget that the city of Lugano with its 70’000 inhabitants is the economic capital of Canton Ticino.

Lugano’s wealth stems not least from its financial centre, the third in Switzerland after Zurich and Geneva. Indeed, numerous banks shape the old town with its picturesque alleys, corners and arcades. But also culture, entertainment and education play an important role with museums, radio- and TV stations and the university, which came into existence in 1996.

At the same time, Lugano is a flourishing holiday resort with a long tradition. Here it is possible to find beautiful landscapes, first class hotels and to shop in a pulsating city centre with Mediterranean charm.

The unique location on the northern bay of the Lake Lugano with the alpine accents of the two mountains Monte Brè and San Salvatore and the rich vegetation are the natural capital of this city, which has fascinated travellers for centuries.

The best way to discover the surrounding areas is by hiking: some of the most beautiful ways lead from Lugano over hill ridges and directly to the seventh heaven. Those who shrink from arduous climbs can comfortably reach the Monte Brè or the San Salvatore by funicular railways. The two peaks offer an overwhelming view of the city, the lake and the surrounding mountains.

Features

  • SHOPPING Boutique Town

93073
Image 0 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 1 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 2 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 3 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 4 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 5 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style
Image 6 - Lugano, swiss mediterranean style

Lugano, swiss mediterranean style

An Arbeit denkt vermutlich zuletzt, wer auf der Piazza Riforma in Lugano gegenüber dem prächtigen Rathaus im Caffè Federale oder bei Vanini sitzt und das Dolce-far-niente geniesst. Ob der südländischen Nonchalance gerät leicht in Vergessenheit, dass man sich im Zentrum einer florierenden Wirtschaftsmetropole befindet, von der die meisten Impulse für den Kanton ausgehen.

Ihren Reichtum verdankt die 70‘000-Einwohner-Stadt Lugano nicht zuletzt dem Finanzplatz, dem nach Zürich und Genf drittgrössten der Schweiz. Die vielen Banken prägen denn auch das Bild der Altstadt mit ihren malerischen Gassen, Winkeln und Arkaden. Aber auch Kultur, Unterhaltung und Bildung kommen mit Museen, Radio- und TV-Stationen und der seit 1996 bestehenden Universität zu ihrem Recht.

Zugleich ist Lugano ein blühender Ferienort mit Tradition. Wer landschaftliche Schönheit und erstklassige Hotellerie mit dem (Shopping-)Erlebnis einer pulsierenden Stadt verbinden möchte, kommt nach Lugano.

Die einmalige Lage an der nördlichen Bucht des Lago di Lugano mit Monte Brè und Monte San Salvatore als alpine Akzente, das milde Klima und die überaus üppige Vegetation bilden das natürliche Kapital dieser Stadt, die seit Jahrhunderten Reisende begeistert.

Der Region am besten auf die Spur kommt man beim Wandern: Von Lugano aus führen einige der schönsten Wege über die Hügelkämme in den siebten Himmel. Wer indes schweisstreibende Aufstiege scheut, den befördern Standseilbahnen in wenigen Minuten auf den Monte Brè oder den San Salvatore. Die beiden Hausberge Luganos bieten eine überwältigende Aussicht.

Eigenschaften

  • SHOPPING Boutique Town