142106
Image 0
Image 1
Image 2

Brusino Arsizio

Description

First mentioned in an official document in 1167 (as Bruxia), Brusino Arsizio was probably already the site of a settlement in ancient times, as some artefacts from a despoiled Roman tomb found in 1970 would seem to show. This lakeside town once had a tower or similar fortification, as the name Castrum Brugini Arsitj and the tower in the municipal coat of arms would lead us to suppose. In the 8th century it was owned by the Totoniden family from Campione d’Italia, before coming under the control of Milan in the 13th century, further to the holdings of the monastery of St. Ambrose, which owned several tracts of land in and around Brusino.

 

The parish church of St. Michael – the patron saint of the village and whose cult was linked to the Lombard monarchy – was first mentioned in 1508, when the village became an independent parish, detaching itself from the Parish of Riva San Vitale. Since the Middle Ages the local economy has been based on fishing, forestry on the slopes of Mount San Giorgio and livestock, interspersed with seasonal migration. In 1798 Brusino Arsizio agreed, albeit somewhat half-heartedly, to join the short-lived Republic of Riva San Vitale (which lasted only about a month).

 

Over the course of the last century, Brusino Arsizio became a holiday resort, especially in the Serpiano area, with its hotel, cable car and the Kurhaus health spa. The population is now mostly engaged in the tertiary sector and many holiday homes have been built along the shores of Lake Lugano.

Features

  • TRANSPORTS Bus , Navigation

142106
Image 0 - Brusino Arsizio
Image 1 - Brusino Arsizio
Image 2 - Brusino Arsizio

Brusino Arsizio

Brusino Arsizio wurde erstmals 1167 als Bruxia urkundlich erwähnt, war aber wahrscheinlich bereits im Altertum bevölkert; 1970 wurden nämlich einige Werkzeuge in einem entweihten römischen Grab gefunden. In Brusino Arsizio soll ein Turm oder eine andere Festung entstanden sein (Castrum Brugini Arsitj, der Turm findet sich auch im Gemeindewappen). Ab dem 8. Jahrhundert stand das Dorf am See unter der Herrschaft der Familie Totonidi aus Campione und geriet im 13. Jahrhundert unter den Einfluss von Mailand, denn das dortige Kloster Sant’Ambrogio besaß in Brusino einige Grundstücke.

 

Die Pfarrkirche wurde 1508 erstmals urkundlich erwähnt und dem Heiligen Michael geweiht, dem Schutzpatron des Dorfes, dessen Verehrung mit der langobardischen Monarchie in Zusammenhang steht. In jenem Jahr entstand durch die Loslösung von der Pieve Riva San Vitale eine selbstständige Pfarrei. Seit dem Mittelalter beruhte die Wirtschaft von Brusino Arsizio auf der Fischerei, der Nutzung der Wälder an den Hängen des Monte San Giorgio, auf Viehzucht und periodischer Auswanderung. Ohne große Begeisterung trat Brusino Arsizio 1798 der kurzlebigen Republik Riva San Vitale bei, die etwa einen Monat Bestand hatte.

Im letzten Jahrhundert diente der Ortsteil Serpiano als Luftkurort mit einer Hotelanlage, einer Seilbahn und einem Kurhaus. Die Gemeinde Brusino Arsizio konnte so ihre touristische Bedeutung steigern, nicht zuletzt wegen der zahlreichen Ferienhäuser am Ufer des Luganer Sees. Die Bevölkerung von Brusino Arsizio arbeitet hauptsächlich im Dienstleistungsbereich.

Eigenschaften

  • ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN Montag: 09:30 - 11:30 / 16:00 - 17:30
    Dienstag: 09:30 - 11:30
    Mittwoch: 09:30 - 11:30
    Donnerstag: 09:30 - 11:30
    Freitag: 09:30 - 11:30
  • TRANSPORTMITTEL Bus , Schifffahrt