Destinations

Ticino is home to an exceptional variety of landscapes. In the north you will find towering mountains and deep valleys carved by glaciers and rivers, whose waters flow into Lake Maggiore in the south.

The central-southern region is the land of the lakes, with clear skies and a mild climate, hotels, piazzas and gardens, villages stretched along lake shores or perched on hillsides, and campaniles basking in the sunshine.
In the south, you are already in the Mediterranean region. The southernmost point of the triangle, the Mendrisiotto, is notable for its serene tranquillity, its expansive landscapes, its gentle hills scattered with houses and fields, and its glowing sunsets on mild October evenings.

The towns and cities also have plenty of pleasures to offer – from sipping a cappuccino on the celebrated Piazza Grande of Locarno to sampling the cultural attractions in Bellinzona and shopping among the historic alleyways of Lugano. Characteristic of all of Ticino’s towns is the agreeable atmosphere that surrounds you as you stroll among the historic buildings, across bustling piazzas and through gardens in bloom.

Maggiore ALT Lugano ALT Bellinzona ALT Mendrisio ALT

Lake Maggiore and Valleys

Maggiore ALT

Are you looking for a piece of paradise with a mild climate, exotic vegetation and great mountains? The Region of Lake Maggiore is the queen of the contrasts in one of the most varied areas of Ticino.

Read More

Lake Lugano Region

Lugano ALT

If you are looking for a city with characteristics of a classy metropolis, but also want some peace and quiet, the region of Lake Lugano is the right place for you.

Read More

Bellinzona and Upper Ticino

Bellinzona ALT

The city of Bellinzona, capital of the Canton, and the valleys of nothern Ticino, are small treasures of beauty that contain a world of unspoiled nature, art and gastronomy.

Read More

Mendrisiotto Region

Mendrisio ALT

The town of Mendrisio and the surrounding area, is now called “magnifico borgo”. Thanks to picturesque lanes, traditional houses, medieval and baroque churches, the Mendrisiotto region is one of the jewels of Ticino.

Read More
NEWSLETTER:
FOLLOW US:

Reiseziele

Die magische Schönheit des Tessins hat Künstler zum Bleiben verführt und Reisende verzaubert. Der mediterrane Charme und das milde Klima, gewürzt mit zartem Zypressenduft, bringen jeden Besucher zum Schwärmen.

Bereits in Airolo, bei der Ausfahrt aus dem Gotthard-Tunnel, eröffnet sich einem die Welt des Südens. Hier erblickt man schon "die italienischen Farben", wie der Literatur-Nobelpreisträger Carl Spitteler frohlockte.

Der Übergang von der alpinen in die mediterrane Welt erfolgt ganz sanft. Stufe für Stufe senkt sich die Leventina zur Riviera hinab. In weniger als einer Stunde hat man mit dem Auto oder der Bahn mehrere Kilmazonen durchmessen und ist in Locarno oder Lugano angelangt.

Unter den Arkaden einer Piazza bei einem Merlot sitzend, mag man sich überlegen, wohin es einen als nächstes zieht. Das Angebot ist enorm. Profane und sakrale Bauten bekannter und unbekannter Meister ergänzen die landschaftliche Schönheit mit einer kunsthistorischen Komponente von Weltgeltung.

Und während sich die Touristenzentren Ascona, Locarno und Lugano mondän geben und alljährlich mit ihren Musik- und Filmfestivals ins internationale Rampenlicht rücken, führen Fusswege in einsame Höhen, durch abgelegene Täler, entlang ungezähmter Flüsse und in stille Dörfer, wo Granit und Gneiss die Landschaft und die Bauweise der Menschen bestimmen. Willkommen im Tessin!

Maggiore ALT Lugano ALT Bellinzona ALT Mendrisio ALT

Lago Maggiore und Täler

Maggiore ALT

Bereits 1576 lobte ein gewisser Josias Simler die Region Locarno, ihr Klima sowie ihre wind- und wettergeschützte Lage in den höchsten Tönen. Sein Fazit: "Es ist ein lustig Ort."

Weitere Informationen

Region Luganersee

Lugano ALT

Lugano mit dem drittgrössten Finanzplatz der Schweiz ist der wirtschaftliche Motor des Kantons. Geschäftstüchtigkeit, Eleganz und Internationalität verbinden sich hier mit südländischer Gelassenheit.

Weitere Informationen

Bellinzona und das Nord-Tessin

Bellinzona ALT

Die drei Burgen, die zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehören, zeugen noch heute von der strategischen Bedeutung Bellinzonas: Der Weg über die Alpen führt durch den Hauptort des Kantons Tessin.

Weitere Informationen

Mendrisiotto Region

Mendrisio ALT

Die heitere, lichterfüllte Landschaft des Mendrisiotto, des Südzipfels der Schweiz, wird oft mit der Toskana verglichen.

Weitere Informationen
NEWSLETTER:
FOLLOW US: